Harlan 101

Harlan 101

4.11 - 1251 ratings - Source

Designed as both an introduction to Harlan Ellison's vast body of work and as a manual for would-be writers, Harlan 101 collects the best of the author's short fiction, seven essays on the craft of writing, and a collection of rarely seen oddities from Ellison's extensive archives. This 400-page paperback features: An introduction by New York Times bestseller Neil Gaiman, author of the Hugo Award-winning novels American Gods and The Graveyard Book, and creator of Vertigo Comics' Sandman series. The first appearance in a widely available Ellison collection of his newest short story-the 2011 Nebula Award-winning qHow Interesting: A Tiny Man.q Five Hugo Award-winning short stories, including q'Repent, Harlequin ' Said the Ticktockman, q qI Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream, q qThe Deathbird, q qJeffty Is Five, q and qPaladin of the Lost Hour.q qSnake in the Cryptq-The never-before-republished story that Ellison rewrote to become qThe Deathbird.q See how this average tale was re-worked into a Hugo Award-winning novelette. The lost ending to qPaladin of the Lost Hourq-This ending only appeared in the very first publication of the short story in the 1985 anthology Universe 15; it has never been reprinted. A disturbing and, as-yet, unfinished short story titled qPet.q Seven informative, yet entertaining essays on the craft of writing (four which have never appeared in an Ellison collection). Plus sixteen other stories-some subtly revised for this publication-spanning Ellison's career. From the 1950s comes qThe Sky is Burning.q The 1960s are represented by qAll the Sounds of Fearq and qPretty Maggie Moneyeyes.q The Ellison of the 1970s appears in qAt the Mouse Circus, q qBasilisk, q qHindsight: 480 Seconds, q qThe Man Who Was Heavily Into Revenge, q qShatterday, q qShoppe Keeper, q and qStrange Wine.q The 1980s offerings include qBroken Glass, q qGrail, q qOn the Slab, q and qPrince Myshkin, and Hold the Relish, q while the 1990s bring forth qThe Man Who Rowed Christopher Columbus Ashoreq and qSensible City.qaquot; aquot;Snake in the Cryptaquot;-The never-before-republished story that Ellison rewrote to become aquot;The Deathbird.aquot; See how this average tale was re-worked into a Hugo Award-winning novelette.

Title:Harlan 101
Author: Harlan Ellison
Publisher: - 2011-12-01

You must register with us as either a Registered User before you can Download this Book. You'll be greeted by a simple sign-up page.

Once you have finished the sign-up process, you will be redirected to your download Book page.

How it works:
  • 1. Register a free 1 month Trial Account.
  • 2. Download as many books as you like (Personal use)
  • 3. Cancel the membership at any time if not satisfied.

Click button below to register and download Ebook
Privacy Policy | Contact | DMCA